10 Facts about the 2018 FIFA World Cup

Moscow is the only city with two arenas (Luzhniki and Spartak). The tournament will take place in 12 stadiums across 11 cities.


10 facts about the 2018 FIFA World Cup

2018 will be the 21st FIFA World Cup, 88 years after the initial tournament in Uruguay (1930) and for the first time in Russia.

32 countries will compete in the 2018 World Cup, with Iceland and Panama making their debuts in the competition. Slovakia was the last team to make it past the group stage on their debut in 2010.

# There have only been four times when a team has won all of their games at a World Cup (Uruguay, 4/4 in 1930), Italy (4/4 in 1938) and Brazil (6/6 in 1970, 7/7 in 2002).

# The last player to reach ten goals in a single World Cup was Gerd Müller, in 1970; since then, the best has been Ronaldo in 2002 (8).

# Every World Cup has been won by a coach who is the same nationality as his team.

# Iceland is the country with the smallest population to ever compete at a World Cup, with 334,000 residents.

# Wolf Zabivaka™ designed by student Ekaterina Bocharova won the right to be the 2018 World Cup mascot. The main symbol of the tournament was chosen via online voting.

# It took 12 years before we can witness a World Cup in Europe again! The last European country that hosted the World Cup was Germany in 2006, which Italy won. The reason why it takes so long is because FIFA likes to rotate hosting rights amongst continents. Since 2006 the World Cup was hosted in Africa (2010) and South America (2014). Before 2006 the World Cup was hosted in Asia (2002).

# Russia’s coach, Stanislav Cherchesov, played in the USA 1994 6-1 victory against Cameroon. In that match, Oleg Salenko scored five goals, a record in a World Cup game.

Click Here For More Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *